Home Page | Stalham Farmers' Club | Leading speakers from the agricultural industry.

Picture 1 Picture 2

Over the years the Stalham has invited a series of leading speakers in the agricultural industry to address members. Although meetings were suspended from around 1916 to 1919 and again in the Second World War, the club’s long-term success has been helped by the loyalty of succeeding generations of members and officers.

There have only been eight presidents since the club was formed in December 1841 and some 15 secretaries during the same period.

In 2014 – it stands at 10 presidents and 16 secretaries.


Swimmer raises charity cash - A donation of £750 was made on behalf of Stalham Farmers’ Club to the Holt Youth Project following Tom Hume’s inspirational talk about swimming the Channel last September. For more than an hour, Stalham’s first member to complete the 23-mile crossing held his 30-strong audience spellbound. Mr Hume and a friend, Ed Sargent, from Thurning, raised £50,000 for the project. Robin Baines proposed the donation, which was enthusiastically agreed. Full report – See minutes and reports on the left [10/02/24]
New chairman elected – Jonathan Pye takes the wheel as chairman after the club’s annual dinner on March 13, 2024. He succeeds William Sands, who opened the 182nd annual meeting at Wroxham Barns on Wednesday, February 7. A new membership secretary Jo Willetts was appointed. There were 30 members and guests present and 19 members attended the supper beforehand. After the formal business, club member and veterinary surgeon Tom Hume gave a fascinating insight into his three-year training programme to swim the Channel Last September. A total of 76 solo swimmers crossed last year – and he joins the elite club of 1,903 who have completed the 21-mile swim since 1875. Meeting report - See minutes and reports on the left [08/02/24]
A change of speaker – Tom Hume will speak about his cross-Channel swim, which helped to raise £50,000 for Holt Youth Project. A clash of dates has prevented the original speaker from attending our meeting. Veterinary surgeon Tom, of the Westover large animal practice, who was injured playing rugby for Holt RFC, set himself a challenge – so, he decided to swim the Channel last September. A trustee of Holt Youth Project, he will brief members on the extraordinary achievements since it was started some 35 years ago. Wednesday, February 7 – Wroxham Barns NR12 8QU. Supper £20 per head, including welcome drink. Please book in advance to Michael Pollitt by Monday, February 5, noon. The two-course meal – Beef Bourginion with vegetables and dessert. Meet from 6pm, meal served at 6.30pm. The meeting starts at 7.30pm. Contact Michael Pollitt – on michaelbpollitt@btinternet.com or telephone 01603 486997 for more details. All bookings will be acknowledged. If you don’t hear from me, it is likely your email has not arrived. [23/01/24]
Welcome to new members and YFC guests - A warm welcome to new member Sam Mitchell at the 2024 opening meeting at Wroxham Barns.North Walsham YFC members joined the vice-chairman Jonathan Pye and speaker Henry Lamb as 27 enjoyed a tasty meal, prepared by Jack Stuttle and his team. A fascinating briefing on the rapid spread of avian flu in the past three years was presented by the Young Farm Vet of the Year Mr Lamb, who is based at Attleborough. Fortunately, there have been five confirmed cases in Britain since October but the poultry sector must maintain the highest standards of biosecurity especially as the mid to late February wild bird migration could be a threat. He was thanked by Polly Papworth and Alison Saunders, of North Walsham YFC. Full report – see Minutes and Reports 2024. [12/01/24]
What a fantastic achievement. Stalham member and veterinary surgeon Tom Hume swam the channel. With fellow swimmer, Ed Sargent, also from Thurning, they raised £50,000 for the Holt Youth Project. Tom, of Westover’s large animal practice, who is a trustee of the project, applied to do the swim in June 2020 . After two years of training and qualifying, he was given a date for July but poor weather forced a delay until September 11. So, it was third time lucky as he stepped ashore in France after swimming 23 miles in 16 hours and 49 minutes. [12/01/24]

Today's Date:
Sat 24 February 2024

Next Event

Wednesday 13 March 2024
Annual Dinner and presentation of awards
Salhouse Lodge
Times: 7.30pm
Speaker to be confirmed. Prize cards for best barley and wheat samples and sugar beet and potato crops to be presented.