Cups and Trophy's | Stalham Farmers' Club | Leading speakers from the agricultural industry.

2021 Season results

Potato Cup: 1 Walcott Farms; 2 LF Papworth; 3 Robin Baines.

Sugar beet – whole crop: 1 Robert Cook; 2 CN Beck & Sons; 3 LF Papworth. Cantley Cup: 1 CN Beck & Sons; 2 Walcott Farms; 3 HBS Farms.

Two-acre – The competition was not judged in 2020 or 2021, partly because of Covid 19 lockdown issues. The trophy was presented to Will Sands, of HBS Farm, which won the award in 2019.

Supreme inter-club barley champion – CN Beck & Sons; reserve, Ed Jones, of Harold Jones Farms, Little Witchingham.

Barley: 1 CN Beck & Sons (Flagon); 2 Milligen McLeod (Maris Otter); 3 Mautby Farms (Laureate). Wheat: 1 Milligen McLeod (Gleam); 2 and 3 LF Papworth (Skyscraper).

Special award - A special presentation of the E H Wenn President’s Cup was made by the retiring chairman Chris Borrett to Thomas Love in recognition of his many years of support for the club.

He had stood at last month’s annual meeting after completing his three-year term as president.

The trophy was last awarded in 2018 having been re-represented to the club by Jennifer Grier.

Other winners have included the late Frank Read in 2012, Ken Leggett, Tim Papworth, potato judge Denis Walsh in 2015 and Stuart Marsh in 2018.

New honorary vice-presidents – Retiring chairman Chris Borrett told about 70 members and guests at the annual dinner that three new honorary vice-presidents had been elected at the recent annual meeting. His announcement that Christopher Deane, Thomas Love and Tim Papworth had been appointed was warmly applauded.

All three had given generously of their time to support the club over many years. They join the current honorary vice-presidents, Jonathan Deane, Ken Leggett MBE and Michael Pollitt.

2019 Season Results

Congratulations to our prize winners at the latest annual dinner, which was attended by more than 120 members and guests. The Dean of Norwich, the Very Rev Jane Hedges presented the trophies and prize cards at The Boathouse, Ormesby, on Wednesday, March 20. And British Sugar's Sarah Bebb, who judged the Cantley Cup for best overall performance by a member in the last beet campaign, now in its 90th year, also helped to present the prize cards for this prestigious trophy. Congratulations to the following:

The Potato Results

1.    L F Papworth Ltd (Daisy)

2.    Walcott Farms (Innovator)

3.    HBS Farms (Fontane)

The Sugar Beet Results

Whole Crop:

1.    R Cook & Sons

2.    Hirst Farms

3.    G A Tallowin & Co

Best Two-acres:

1.    C N Beck & Sons

2.    2. HBS Farms and C Callow/Edward de Feyter

3.    3. G A Tallowin & Co and Walcott Farms

Cantley Cup:

1.    Mrs Mary Hannant

2.    C N Beck & Sons

3.    HBS Farms

Barley (21 Samples)

1.    Mautby Farms (Flagon)

2.    HBS Farms (Concerto)

3.    R Cooke & Sons (Concerto)

Wheat (11 Samples)

1.    Milligen McLeod (Skyfall)

2.    Mautby Farms (Grafton)

3.    Milligen McLeod (Siskin)

2018 Season Results

Double success for first time trophy winners.

Two first time winners of the wheat and barley trophies were presented with certificates by Norfolk’s police and crime commissioner Lorne Green. For the first time since the barley trophy was presented in 1937, it was won by John Key, of Ormesby, and his son, Philip, with a sample of Maris Otter. Mr Key was staggered that his sample had put the family farm, A J Key & Son on the superb trophy. Another east Norfolk farmer, George Gay, of Mautby Farms, won the wheat cup with a sample of Grafton. The judge of the annual competition, Chris Borrett, of Adams & Howling, was thanked for his efforts. In the inter-club barley championship, the victor was William Mack, of Hempstead Hall, near Holt, with his Maris Otter sample.

Potato Results:

1. L F Papworth Ltd (Rooster)
2. R. Baines (Ivory Russet)
3. Walcott Farms (Fontane)

Sugar Beet Results:

Cantley Cup: TBA after a prolonged campaign!

Whole Crop
1. C N Beck and Sons
2. Nigel Cooke
3. Andrew Alston

Best Two Acres
1. John Tallowin
2. C N Beck and Sons
3. Andrew Alston

Grain results:

1. Mautby Farms, Grafton
2. Milligen McLeod (Skyfall)
3.HBS Farms (Costello)

1. A J Key & Son (Maris Otter)
2. Milligen McLeod
3. R Cooke & Sons (Concerto).

2017 Season Results

Congratulations. Prize cards and trophies were presented at the 175th annual dinner by the guest speaker, Sir Nicholas Bacon to the winners of the club’s competitions.

A total of 118 members and guests enjoyed a three-course meal at the Norfolk Mead Hotel, Coltishall. After a stimulating address, Sir Nicholas, who is chairman of the Royal Norfolk Agricultural Association, presented trophies to members.

The Cantley Cup, which recognises the best overall sugar beet performance by a member, went to the club’s vice-chairman Henry Alston, of Billockby Hall. For the first time in the 89-year history of the trophy, all members were eligible for the prestigious trophy. The runner-up was Jonathan Gill, of E Jones & partners and third, CN Beck & Sons; fourth, Milligen McLeod and fifth Whitwell Hall Farms (Andrew Morton).

RESULTS 2016-17

Potato Cup, judge Denis Walsh -

1 Nova Scotia Farms;

2 HBS Farms;

3 Robin Baines & Co.

Cereals, judge Chris Borrett of Adams & Howling -

Wheat -

1 Milligen McLeod (Invicta);

2 LF Papworth (Leeds);

3 HBS Farms (Costello).

Barley -

1 Walcott Farms (Maris Otter);

2 Milligen McLeod (Maris Otter);

3 Nova Scotia Farms (Maris Otter).

Sugar Beet -

Whole Crop, 2016, judge Ken Matthews -

1 GA Tallowin & Co;

2 CN Beck & Sons;

3 Andrew Alston.

Best two-acre, 2016 -

1 Milligen McLeod;

2 Andrew Alston;

3 HBS Farms.

Ten-pin bowls – presented to Charlie Lockhart.

The club's chairman Jonathan Deane thanked the judges and especially British Sugar's area manager Sarah Bebb for her help with the beet competitions.