C. 2015 | Stalham Farmers' Club | Leading speakers from the agricultural industry.

Congratulations to the winners of the club’s annual competitions presented at the Norfolk Mead Hotel by NFU deputy president, Minette Batters. The supreme award for best performance in sugar beet went to GA Tallowin, of Hickling. It is the first time that we’ve ever won the Cantley Cup,” said a clearly surprised and delighted John Tallowin. The award for best two acres of beet went to Thomas Love, of Walcott Farms; and for the first time in the competition’s history, there was a tie for second place with Nova Scotia Farms, of Caister, and Robin Baines & Co, of Hoveton. The wheat and barley cups were both won by Milligen McLeod, of East Ruston. Mr McLeod and his farm manager Stewart Marsh took the supreme inter-club barley award with a sample of Concerto. Full list in the competitions’ section.

RESULTS 2015-16

Grain - Barley:

1 Milligen McLeod, Concerto

2 HBS Farms, Cassata

3 Milligen McLeod, Maris Otter


1 Milligen McLeod,  Invicta

2 LF Papworth, Lili

3 CH Callow, Grafton

Supreme barley, inter-club -  Milligen McLeod, Concerto

Sugar beet - Cantley Cup - 1 GA Tallowin

 Whole crop

1 Robert Cook

2 DL Ritchie

3 GA Tallowin 


1 Walcott Farms

2= Robin Baines & Co

2= Nova Scotia Farms

 Potato Cup

1 HBS Farms, Desiree

2 Robert Cook, Opal

3 LF Papworth, Royale


First trophy win for Stalham

A 17-strong team of 10-pin bowlers turned out for Stalham in the second annual competition against Holt & District Farmers’ Club.

And with the best wishes of the club’s president William Donald ringing in their ears, the squad scored a total of 3,713 points at Rossi’s Leisure Centre, 

North Walsham, while Holt logged 3,231 points. The winning margin was 482 points.

But in the bowls, the Holt team fielded by Stuart Ross was to prove triumphant again by a handsome margin. They scored a total of 136 points against 34 by Stalham in the 24th annual match between the two teams.

Since the first match in 1992, Holt has won the trophy 17 times, with Stalham last winning in 2006.

On the green, Holt’s 18-strong squad was again dominant but Stalham did field a number of debut bowlers including the chairman, Neil Jordan, and the secretary, Michael Pollitt. Needless to report, their collective form did not exactly trouble the scorers but a thoroughly fun evening was had by all.

Other highlights in the 10-pin included individual successes – Stalham’s Darren Jeary was the highest individual scorer overall with 169 while John Mitchell, also of Stalham, was runner-up with 160. Charlie Mack, of Holt, was third with 154.

While a total of more than members and guests enjoyed a three-course supper with cream of mushroom soup, roast pork and apple sauce and apple pie with cream, the team captains tallied up the scores.

After a further post-match review, it was agreed that Holt has won the bowls’ honours and the Adams & Howling Cup while Stalham would be presented with a new trophy in recognition of success at 10-pin. The enthusiasm of many of the younger bowlers including Jack Papworth and Ed Benton and Daniel Murphy, who also played for Stalham, was much appreciated.

In closing Neil Jordan thanked all members, guests and players for supporting what has become a popular annual match and especially Bruce Rossi for his behind-the-scenes organisation and lending some sets of woods for players.

Stuart Ross, of Holt, said that the evening had been great fun and ended with a very good meal. He would like to return to Rossi’s for the 2016 match . . .  especially if they keep winning at bowls.